Basic Game Advice

Random discussion, related to the game, but not really of a rules nature.
Joshua
Gibbering

Basic Game Advice

Post by Joshua »

Again, I'm not an expert, but let's help each other here. Probably the most common issue I have seen (besides, real life ate me) is "I don't know what to do."

Tip: The game is cooperative. If you have trouble fleshing out any part of your character, be it in stories or points, ask. If not on here, they over PM or IM.

Goals
  • Walk the pattern.
    1. Gain an Amberite's trust.
    2. Discover why some people survive the pattern and some don't.
    3. Gain said quality.
    4. Walk the pattern.
  • Understand Broken Pattern.
    1. Get someone to notice logrus-like tendrils (OOC event).
    2. Talk to Alys or Dworkin about Logrus.
    3. Get straight answer.
    4. ? Visit Chaos.
  • Learn Logrus?
  • Merge Logrus and Pattern?
  • Discover what major or minor power spawned the Hivers?
Not specifically for an NPC, but an example of a character with Broken pattern who wants to upgrade. This character is unlikely to wander through a scene uncertain of what do to. A number of the goals are very broad and help him decide what scenes are important to him. Some people are very reactive, and that's okay initially, but developing goals and wants for your character means you'll be able to do things and shape the game better.

Goals are not intended to be set in stone. Adjust or add to them as new information and plot elements come up. And a good first step is "Find out about x that came up in thread I wasn't part of." Rumors spread, people are in the city, and 100 minor elements make going a little out of your way to find something interesting to your character a good thing.