New Game Notes (Rules)

Discussion about the game: rules, character descriptions, questions, etc
Joshua
Gibbering

New Game Notes (Rules)

Post by Joshua »

From yesterdays discussion.

1) People seem overwhelmingly in favor of "giant chunk of XP" vs "so many dots" in character creation. While I'm not a big proponent of this for tabletop games, it certainly makes sense for LARP.

This would give starting PCs a base 1 in all 9 attributes, then 300 or so XP. Jon said he would do the math.

I only had one question about this method, and that's how to work the favored attribute from the vampire template. My thought is you'd get 20 or so XP that had to be spent on those two attributes. This covers what happens if you get embraced in game, and for standard creation, it means only that those two attributes need to either both be 2 or one has to be 3. (not that people would really care about that, but I like the favored attribute aspect.)

The other issue I (personally) wanted to mention, was I do like the 3 free specializations. I find that they force you to think about the character. But that last bit is my opinion.

2) Another general consensus was the removal of trading Humanity for XP. This would be replaced by 2 groups of 5 xp that you had to give to two other players.

My thought is you could only give them to other characters that you had ties to in game, be it allies or enemies. The thought is to give an incentive to make players have ties to each other.

3) Aaron wanted to unify the resistance rules. I think it was make them all opposed pulls (stat + bp) or all Stat+att+disc-resistance-bp I wasn't sure where we ended up on that.

4) Last, 2 proposed changes to Nightmare.
Nightmare 1 would only cause you to flee for rounds = to successes and you do not have to stay away for the rest of the scene. When you achieve Nightmare 3, the "away for the scene" is restored.
Nightmare 2, per how it is in BtS, does not require concentration (but still hits your allies).
Joshua